We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Killing Time


supported by
  • Double Vinyl

    Following the breakup of Cambridge's avant-rock legends, Henry Cow, guitarist Fred Frith moved to NYC in 1979, and soon found himself deep in the heart of the city's robust post-punk and free-jazz scenes. He performed with Bill Laswell and Fred Maher, from the group Material, as a power trio of sorts under the moniker of Massacre.
    The group quickly garnered a reputation around town, and around the world for that matter, as a heavy and heady band that experimented greatly with rhythm, time signatures, and tone.
    As Frith himself put it, "the group was a direct response to New York. It was a very aggressive group, kind of my reaction to the whole New York rock club scene." Massacre released one album, Killing Time, before disbanding for nearly 20 years.
    Their first wave as a group crashed fast and furiously and this one album, recorded in part live in Paris, and in part at Brooklyn's OAO Studio, is a perfect encapsulation of early '80s NYC.
    In addition to the original album, first released on Celluloid in 1981, this deluxe three-sided double LP includes eight bonus tracks recorded live between '80 and '81 at The Stone in San Francisco, and Inroads and CBGB in NYC. Avant-jazz-post-punk-noise of the highest order from several legends and one of the most important projects Frith and Laswell were ever involved in.


    A1 Legs
    A2 Aging With Dignity
    A3 Subway Heart
    A4 Killing Time
    A5 Corridor
    A6 Lost Causes
    A7 Not The Person We Knew
    B1 Bones
    B2 Tourism
    B3 Surfing
    B4 As Is
    B5 After
    B6 Gate
    C1 You Said
    C2 Know
    C3 Conversations With White Arc
    C4 Carrying
    C5 Bait
    C6 Third Street
    C7 3 O'Clock, June 21st, Get Down There And Do It
    C8 F.B.I.

    ... more

    Sold Out


All music composed or improvised by Massacre. Recorded live at 24 Rue Dunois, Paris in April, 1981 and at OAO Studio, Brooklyn in June, 1981.


released July 2, 2021



Spittle Records Florence, Italy

Spittle Records is a label started in 1984 in Italy.
After a few years of works it ended publishing but in 2005 it was restarted with the purpose of filing and reissuing most of italian 80's rock scene.

Some of the labels reissued on Spittle Records are
Electric Eye, Contempo Records and Italian Records.
... more

contact / help

Contact Spittle Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Report this album or account

If you like Killing Time, you may also like: